Solitary by Travis Thrasher

Find this book on Amazon

My rating: 4.5 stars

About the book:

His Loneliness Will Soon Turn to Fear…. 

When Chris Buckley moves to Solitary, North Carolina, he faces the reality of his parents’ divorce, a school full of nameless faces—and Jocelyn Evans. Jocelyn is beautiful and mysterious enough to leave Chris speechless. But the more Jocelyn resists him, the more the two are drawn together.

Chris soon learns that Jocelyn has secrets as deep as the town itself. Secrets more terrifying than the bullies he faces in the locker room or his mother’s unexplained nightmares. He slowly begins to understand the horrific answers. The question is whether he can save Jocelyn in time.

This first book in the Solitary Tales series will take you from the cold halls of high school to the dark rooms of an abandoned cabin—and remind you what it means to believe in what you cannot see.

My thoughts:

The first book in The Solitary Tales series starts off right away with an attention gripping preface and while the main plot doesn’t begin to show until partway through, I thoroughly enjoyed reading the whole book!

I think Solitary was well written, easy to read, and definitely entertaining! The characters were enjoyable and I liked how the book was written in the first person.

I thought a couple of things in Solitary were weird – like the dog with glowing eyes, the voice from the hole in the cabin, and a few other things; but all of this made the story even more enjoyable!

This isn’t the first book that I’ve read by Travis Thrasher and it won’t be the last. The ending to Solitary makes me want to read Gravestone very, very much!

I definitely recommend Solitary if you enjoy a really good read with some weird aspects…

*I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for my review. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion – which I’ve done.*

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Solitary by Travis Thrasher

  1. Tami Morell

    It was hard not to get attatched to Chris right away. This great book draws you in and each and every character becomes very personal. The book will take you through an incredible love story, suspence, ups and downs . It will stretch the imagination and so much more.
    I was on the edge of my seat at all times and could not wait to get back to it to see what would happen next. It kept me quessing right up until the end and surely did not disappoint!
    I had never read a Travis Thrasher book until Solitary but, after reading this book he became one of my favorite Authors. I am currently on my 4th book and have 2 waiting.

Leave a Reply

