The Baker’s Wife by Erin Healy

The Baker’s Wife by Erin Healy

My rating: 4 stars

Audrey Bofinger used to be the pastor’s wife, but a series of events cost her husband, Geoff, his job as a pastor. Now she and her husband run a bakery, Rise and Shine.

One morning, while Audrey and her son, Ed, are on their way to the bakery, their car strikes a scooter – there is a lot of blood, but no body.

The blood and scooter belong to detective Jack Mansfield’s wife. Jack is certain Audrey is behind his wife’s accident/disappearance, and knows where his wife is.

When the case reaches a dead-end, Jack becomes crazy and takes matters into his own hands. He takes hostages at the bakery – including Audrey’s husband and son. She has to find Julie or risk losing the ones she loves….

I’ve only read one other book by ERIN HEALY – ‘Kiss’ (which was co-written with Ted Dekker), and since I loved that book, I was really looking forward to reading ‘The Baker’s Wife’. I’m happy to say that I really enjoyed it. There was suspense and mystery… a LOT of mystery.

I did find some things odd – like Audrey’s ability to feel other people’s pain. But I feel, though odd, it made the story very interesting. The characters were enjoyable to read – I especially found their back-stories intriguing.

‘The Baker’s Wife’ is definitely a great mystery that I recommend if you enjoy reading mysteries.

*I received a complimentary copy for my review via Booksneeze. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion.*

Was my review helpful? If so, please click yes on Amazon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

